News Post

The staff of the Geneva yearbook “The Boardwalk” was recognized by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association for excellence in specific categories from this prestigious national journalism organization. The CSPA announced winners of its 36th Annual Gold Circle Awards Program to honor excellence in high school journalism in yearbooks and digital media. This year, these categories attracted 5,309 yearbook and digital media entries submitted in 91 categories.

Judges cited a total of 747 winners for yearbook and digital media for either first, second or third place or for Certificates of Merit for those deemed worthy of honorable mention in a category. Entry categories included those for yearbooks and for digital (online) media in this annual competition for individual achievement by student writers, editors, designers and photographers.

Geneva yearbook staff members who earned a CSPA Gold Circle Award for excellence in the 2017-2018 yearbook are the team of junior Corley Petrie, senior Madilyn Wilson and graduates Ross Kirchner and Will Langenbahn who placed second in the Index category. This same team of staffers also earned a second place finish in the Organization Spread category.

In addition, sophomore Gracie Janse placed third in the Informational Graphics Portfolio category and senior Hannah Rose Tong received a Certificate of Merit in the category of Design Portfolio.

“I’m so proud of their hard work and it is such an honor to be recognized on a national level,” Geneva yearbook adviser Christina Hammock said. Seniors on the yearbook staff will attend CSPA’s annual conference at Columbia University in New York City next month.